cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DPM & PCI Compliance - again!

So, I've searched the forum and found a bunch of posts stating something along the lines of "With DPM the credit card info never goes to your server so you're off the PCI compliance hook."

However, if I have a site that uses DPM, that has been hacked, wouldn't it be pretty simple for an attacker to add a Javascript to the payment form that my site renders and either log keystrokes or capture the form data on the onsubmit event?  It seems to me that DPM and AIM should have identical PCI compliance requirements. Do they? If so, why not?

I'm asking because I'm a developer with a customer who is currently using AIM and looking to simplify being PCI compliant.

Thanks,

John

jbeales
9 REPLIES 9

DPM uses https:// to post the payment information directly to Authorize.net.  The unencrypted data never actually hits your server in that it goes directly from a visitor's web browser to Authorize.net.

stevelogan

I think the point is that if an attacker gets source code access to your website, they could change the page so that it submits to evilserver.net instead of authorize.net.  If they were more subtle, they could insert javascript code to send the data to evilserver.net via AJAX, while still submitting the transaction itself to authorize.net.

This seems like a weakness in the PCI standard itself.  As long as you aren't actually storing card data or transmitting it through your network, compliance isn't required.  Granted, I'm no lawyer, but the financial people at my organization have the same interpretation and have given their OK to DPM on that basis.

I still think PCI compliance is a good idea, but no standard can ensure absolute security, because absolute security  doesn't exist. All we developers can do is try our best.

http://developer.authorize.net/api/compare/

Data stored on Authorize.Net PCI-compliant servers (reduces risk to merchant).