cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Relay Reponse Timeout prevention

I think I've read all the posts concerning this topic but I have not seen any concrete examples on how to prevent it, only general advise.  Based on what I've read, I need to set up my response page to process as follows:

1. Get transaction response values
2. Initiate HTTP post to render the reponse form with a "Processing, please wait." message
3. Bind transaction response values to form
4. Configure and send emails
5. Write transaction response values to database

6. Finish form post.

Step 2 is obviously the key in preventing the timeout. I'm a C# developer who's never gotten around to learning AJAX but I suspect this step would involve some AJAX code.  All the examples I've been able to find on the web and in an AJAX book I bought involve some user interaction to initiate the event that would present the "Processing..." message.  For the relay response, I don't know how to go about this.  I also am not sure how to finish the process with step 6.   I'm not asking for detailed code to do this.  I can probably figure that out myself.  What I'm asking for is some detail on the process of doing what needs to be done in steps 2 & 6 (what objects/methods to use, etc.)   Can anyone help?  Surely, somone has done this.  I'll certainly share my "timeout prevention" solution on this forum once I get it to work. 

jasco
5 REPLIES 5

I forgot to mention, I'm using SIM.  I should also mention I've been using my code to support an ecommerce site since January.  The timeout issue doesn't happen a lot (1 in 20 transactions maybe) but it is a nuisance. I have to respond to customer questions everytime it happens.

jasco

Hi jasco,