cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

options for recurring billing

Hi:  I've spent a couple of days reading the API docs and this forum. The forum, in particular, has helped a lot with filling in the blanks.

I'm a programmer in an academic department at a public university in the US. We've been using SIM for several years with few problems. The department administration now want to offer automated recurring billing.

From what I've read on this forum, CIM is easier to implement than ARB. According to the CIM XML documentation, "You must still use the standard API (either SOAP or XML) for some operations, such as creating a transaction. The hosted page only provides functionality for creating, updating, and deleting payment profiles and shipping addresses."

So, in order for the customer to actually initiate or process a recurring transaction, I would need to use the standard (non-hosted) CIM API, or AIM?

What's not clear to me is whether there is some combination of APIs that would allow me to completely avoid handling credit card data on my servers (either storing it or transmtting it), both for updating payment profiles and for performing transactions.

thanks,

RandyN
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

There seems to be a failure in communication. CIM sets up customer profiles (unprotected info, regular CIM) and billing profiles (protected info, hosted CIM), which once set up are charged just by passing profile ID's. Under hosted CIM, the form is not hosted by you, it's hosted by Authorize.net and only displayed on your site via iframe popups. Therefore, the credit card information never passes through your server. It goes straight from the entering computer (customer responsibility) to Authorize.net. Authorize.net just sends you back a profile ID to bill against.

If that doesn't get across, I don't know how to explain it better.

View solution in original post

14 REPLIES 14