cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

using CDATA tags in name fields

Hi,

Newbie here... been integrating CIM api's for about 2 months... anyway, ran into an issue in using the

"createCustomerProfileRequest"  CIM api when there was an ampersand     &    included in the company name 

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>                                          
<createCustomerProfileRequest xmlns="AnetApi/xml/v1/schema/AnetApiSchema.xsd">  
<merchantAuthentication>                                                      
<name>xxxxxxxxxxx</name>                                                       
<transactionKey>xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx</transactionKey>                           
</merchantAuthentication>                                                     
<refId>xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx</refId>                                             
<profile>                                                                     
<merchantCustomerId>121121</merchantCustomerId>                            
<description>SO121121</description>                                         
<paymentProfiles>                                                             
<billTo>                                                                  
<company>xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx & zzz</company>                            
<address>755</address>                                                  
<zip>10466</zip>                                                        
</billTo>

(note that the break shown above AFTER the & does not exist in the real XML)

The error returned is "E00003  An error occurred while parsing Entity Name. Line 13, position 39.  ".

If i count out the line and position, that points to the ampersnad in the <company> tag.

My thought was that I could use the "CDATA" tag like I see in some of the API examples in the manual, usually shown in the <extraOptions>.

When I did that