cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Automatic Retry Missed Payments

I am trying to understand how missed payments are handled with the ARB - Automatic retry feature

For example, lets say I have a monthly ARB subscription with 12 occurrences. Occurrence 1 and 2 processed fine, and then I have a payment error on occurrence 3. I don't resolve this payment error until occurence 6 (the subscription is suspended until 6 because of the payment error on 3). So, occurrences 3,4,5 have been missed. 

With auto-retry, after i fix my payment error, does occurence 3 get retried since that is the actual payment failure? And then does the subscription just go along its normal schedule, back to billing monthly?

Or,

Are all missed payments (3, 4, and 5) charged to the customer at once?

I've been referencing https://support.authorize.net/s/article/Automatic-Retry-Recurring-Billing-Feature-FAQ, and it talks about the failed payment. But not so much about missed payments - 4 and 5. 

Any help will be very much appreciated. 

Thanks

ksingh
9 REPLIES 9

hey AosTvApk,

Thanks for the reply. My question is more what happens to all missed payments when the suspended subscription lapses over several intervals. 

Will auto-retry also 'retry' all missed payments (not just the first, failed payment) after the subscription is made active again? 

The reason I am asking is because I recently had a customer fix their suspended account (I have auto-retry enabled). They took about 5 months to fix their credit card issue. As soon as the subscription was fixed, and became active, there were 5 charges occurring over 5 days from the subscription. 

ksingh

Hi ksingh

What you are describing is a currently known issue with Auto Retry enabled accounts. I would suggest opening a support case with our customer support by logging into your account: https://support.authorize.net/s/article/How-do-I-contact-Authorize-Net

Thank you,

Elaine