cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Avoid PCI by relying completely on Authorize.net

Hi all. We've got a slight problem. I'm a new-ish freelance developer making a site for a start-up. They generally only do cash/over-the-phone/hand delivery of items. As they are getting more popular, they want to move onto the internet world to handle a lot more of the transactions. We're on sort of a tight schedule, as they are hoping to get this all ready by next weekend. (And I, the sole developer, also work a full-time job)

This company also does a lot of on-the-go transactions. A major feature they have requested is the ability to allow customers to save their credit card info so that we can simply ping Authorize.net with an ID and an amount, and Authorize can handle the credit card info and transaction. 

The problem, since we are a small site, is getting PCI compliant and all the other standards is pretty tough. The solution?

I would like to redirect the user to enter their information through a direct Authorize.net portal which is compliant to all the standards. Upon success, Authorize.net sends me (our site) some sort of user identification, which I can store. 

When the user wants to buy something, we create a transaction to Authorize.net with that ID, our API Key, the Transaction key, and the amount, this side works its magic, sends us a success, and we can all be on our merry little way.

I know this kind of sounds like a 'too easy to be true' type thing, but is this possible and is there any other workaround?

Thanks ahead for any help! 

Rockster160
Contributor
4 REPLIES 4

Hello @Rockster160 

Welcome to the community. Assuming your client already has a gateway and merchant account, I suggest  starting by watching our training videos http://developer.authorize.net/videos