cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can unsettled transaction fails during settlement?

Hi,

I am new to authorize.net API,

I want to implement using DPM or SIM or AIM method. To process the transaction say I logged to authorize.net.
Hence it logged as the unsettled transaction.

Is there any chance of failing this unsettled transaction during settlement?

If so I should wait the response through silent post after the settlement of the transaction to update the payment details.

Please let me know whether I should consider the transaction done after logging as the unsettled transaction or need to wait for the silent post response.

Thanks in advance :)

rajanikantb
5 REPLIES 5

Hi rajanikantb,

The transactions result cannot change at the time of settlement. There is a small chance of a batch failure, which would fail all transactions for the day. Generally, this is only caused by a problem at your merchant account. It is not something to be monitored for at the individual transaction level.

Thanks,

Joy

Joy
Administrator Administrator
Administrator

Hi rajanikantb,

You do need to wait for the Silent Post to confirm the transation has been processed successfully.  I have a system set up for a client where we either use AIM or ARB depending on the customer selection.  I have had fake credit cards go through (I know because I put the transaction through expecting a failure) and only get notified about the resultant failure once Authorize.net has actually processed the transaction, which is the next day, and then my system is notified via Silent Post and our database is updated.  So you can see it can not be relied upon to get instantaneous results which a membership site or digitial download site would need.

Cheers

Jill

Hi Joy,

Thanks for the response. So I believe if I do not have problem at my merchant account then the transaction not going to fail.