cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Extreme Newbie In Serach of Help with Integrating AIM with Joomla 1.7...

Well, I feel like a complete failure as a developer and I need some help. I am very very new to Authorize.net. and e-commerce as a whole on this level. My client that I am building a site for has an account with Authorize.net for the payment gateway and this is what I am to use to build the product pages, cart, and checkout.

I was hoping that it was going to be much easier to integrate and/or at least that there might be some step-by-step tutorials on "how to." I was wrong. I have been searching for answers, but have not found what I am looking for....thus this cry for help.

I have no idea what I am doing to integrate this and feel so overwheled with this product. It seems more complicated than it should be and I'm sure it's much simpler than I am making it out to be. Please bare with me, I feel stupid enough at this point and have a lot of questions.

Setting and Situation

• I am using Joomla 1.7 to develop the site (building the site currently on Apache localhost xampp)
  • I have a product page with descriptions of the products: sizes, colors, price.
  • I need to have an add to cart button that then takes me to another page ("article" in Joomla) with this information on it, asking the user if they want to continue shopping or check out.
  • If continue shoping, then return to product page or such. If check out, then create payment page.
  • I downloaded the Server Integration Method (SIM) because it seems to handle most of the transaction process for the user. Plus, I believe it allows me to put additional fields such as a color drop-down.
  • Do I need to download the Advanced Integration Method (AIM) instead to keep all the activity on the website?

Problem/Questions