cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Merchant boarding API process

We are in process of developing an online POS system that will require our customers to use an existing Auth.net gateway or sign up for one while signing up for our service. To clarify, I am not a developer, but I need to understand the process and get some suggestions.

We will be gathering basic business information during signup, but looking at the Merchant Boarding API it appears there is a considerable amount of additional information including items such as the owner's SSN that will be required for the gateway application. I am trying to figure out the best way to integrate this into our sign up process without my customers potentially abandoning the process.

First question, are all the fields indicated in the boarding api required to sign a merchant up for the gateway? If not, what are the bare minimum fields required? Second, can anyone suggest a live example of someone using the boarding API so I can see the process in action? Can I direct them to an online auth.net application form post signup (concerned they won't want to give me their SSN using my sign up forms) for them to fill out the application?

As you can see my main concern is avoiding abandonment and streamlining the process with minimal personal information. Any suggestions on how best to accomplish this would be appreciated.

Thanks

bartleby
2 REPLIES 2

First question, are all the fields indicated in the boarding api required to sign a merchant up for the gateway? If not, what are the bare minimum fields required?

From the documentation, the fields that are optional are marked Optional or Conditional

http://www.authorize.net/support/MB_guide.pdf

Second, can anyone suggest a live example of someone using the boarding API so I can see the process in action?

Here is where you can get a list of existing reseller http://www.authorize.net/solutions/merchantsolutions/resellerdirectory/