cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Only Charge at shipment time

He guys, 

I am new to Authorize.net and I have a quick good question here :)

I know that my gateway will automatically submit a batch of successful transactions  daily at a predefined time for settlement. Now lets say I want to just authorize the user's card but actually charge them at the shipping time. How do I do that ? Is there like a status before "pending for settlement" status that I can set it, like "sucesful verified" or something like that only. And then I could flip the status of the transaction to  "pending for settlement" later when I ship out the products ?

Please let me know your solution to this common problem. 

Thanks!

fantomknight
Contributor
22 REPLIES 22

Greetings,

If you plan to ship the product within 30 days, you may perform what is called an "authorize only" (AUTH_ONLY) submission to the API.

After shipping the product,simply login to Authorize.Net and click the "capture" button to capture/settle the transaction.

You may also programmatically capture the transaction through the Authorize.Net API (PRIOR_AUTH_CAPTURE).

Thank You!

soundcommerce
Trusted Contributor
Trusted Contributor

ahh I see got it. Thanks

2 more questions:

1) any way to automatically renew an AUTH_ONLY transac by its id before it expires ?

2) I see we can only PRIOR_CAPTURE an AUTH_ONLY transac on the same or smaller amount.

In the event a customer added some more items, I would like to PRIOR_CAPTURE to a larger amount than originally submitted.

Any problem with AUTH_ONLY with a very large amount, lets say double the submitted total by customer, to leave room for additional items

on PRIOR_CAPTURE ? Would AUTH_ONLY a high amount would increase the chance to fail authorization step ?

does the amount at AUTH_ONLY matter at all?

Thanks!

1) No. You would need to do a new AUTH ONLY.