cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Only Charge at shipment time

He guys, 

I am new to Authorize.net and I have a quick good question here :)

I know that my gateway will automatically submit a batch of successful transactions  daily at a predefined time for settlement. Now lets say I want to just authorize the user's card but actually charge them at the shipping time. How do I do that ? Is there like a status before "pending for settlement" status that I can set it, like "sucesful verified" or something like that only. And then I could flip the status of the transaction to  "pending for settlement" later when I ship out the products ?

Please let me know your solution to this common problem. 

Thanks!

fantomknight
Contributor
22 REPLIES 22

Any chance of adding in a transaction fee as default, then refunding after - once you have verified the status?

FYI, adding the processing fee is against Visa and MasterCard guidelines and can get you shut down. If you're going to do it you either need to label it something else or blend it into their costs.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
John Conde :: Certified Authorize.Net Developer (Brainyminds) :: Official Authorize.Net Blogger

NEW! Handling Authorize.Net's Webhooks with PHP

Integrate Every Authorize.Net JSON API with One PHP Class (Sample code included)

Tutorials for integrating Authorize.Net with PHP: AIM, ARB, CIM, Silent Post
All About Authorize.Net's Silent Post

:smileysurprised: thank goodness you said that :smileyhappy:

TSdotNet
Trusted Contributor

ohh I've never known that. Can I just simply call it "transaction fee" and explain that its fee to process card transaction ? Is it still against Visa or Master processing guideline ? 

Also do you guys know if a merchant gets charged for a declined or an invalid transaction ?