cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Only Charge at shipment time

He guys, 

I am new to Authorize.net and I have a quick good question here :)

I know that my gateway will automatically submit a batch of successful transactions  daily at a predefined time for settlement. Now lets say I want to just authorize the user's card but actually charge them at the shipping time. How do I do that ? Is there like a status before "pending for settlement" status that I can set it, like "sucesful verified" or something like that only. And then I could flip the status of the transaction to  "pending for settlement" later when I ship out the products ?

Please let me know your solution to this common problem. 

Thanks!

fantomknight
Contributor
22 REPLIES 22

Thank you for this post John,

i was searching for information regarding CC expiration year rules as i have an old data entry app that for some reason is limiting the expiration year to  (current year thru curent year+6).

Your post indicates there should not be a restriction on the year, it will be the bank that tells me whether it is valid or not.

Maybe our self-imposed limit is for a business reason, i will ask around at work.

NJ

Hi All:

We're trying to integrate a pre-sale on a book, but would not like to charge until the book is shipped.  There will be a 60 day window between the launch of the pre-sale and the shipping date, which is beyond the 30 day authorization window.  Is there a way to capture the customer details and not charge them for 60 days?  You help is appreciated.

Thanks in advance for the advice!

snarficus33