Reply
Highlighted
Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-22-2014
Accepted Solution

Reason Code 76: "The tax amount is invalid."

Hi all, using the PHP SDK I have the following:

 

$transaction = new AuthorizeNetTransaction;
$transaction->amount = $amount;
$transaction->tax->amount = 19.8000;
$transaction->tax->description = 'UK Value Added Tax';
$transaction->customerProfileId = $customerProfileId;
$transaction->customerPaymentProfileId = $paymentProfileId;

 

The creation of the customer profile and payments profile works, but the transaction fails with the error mentioned in the subject.

 

I have tried:

  • '19.80'
  • 19.80
  • $amount * 0.2
  • 19.8000
  • "19.80"
  • 19.8

Any thoughts? The docs state The value submitted in x_tax failed format validation, but I don't think that's true.

 

Thanks,

Michael


Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Solution
Accepted by topic author mmcdonald
‎08-21-2015 01:58 AM
Expert
Posts: 4,525
Registered: ‎03-08-2010

Re: Reason Code 76: "The tax amount is invalid."

the x_tax have 3 components

name, description, and amount, my guess it that it need the name.

View solution in original post


All Replies
Highlighted
Solution
Accepted by topic author mmcdonald
‎08-21-2015 01:58 AM
Expert
Posts: 4,525
Registered: ‎03-08-2010

Re: Reason Code 76: "The tax amount is invalid."

the x_tax have 3 components

name, description, and amount, my guess it that it need the name.

Highlighted
Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-22-2014

Re: Reason Code 76: "The tax amount is invalid."

Thanks, I thought it was optional, but I think that's a lack of clarity in the docs. The API docs say it's optional period, not required if another value is provided. Thanks for the clarification!

Highlighted
Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-03-2014

Re: Reason Code 76: "The tax amount is invalid."

The documentation says the structured tax item is one format, but the other format is pure numeric. After years with no problem, today I received an error with text "The tax amount is invalid". I am using simply "0". Maybe a decimal is now required. I will be searching for a more precise format description, and/or testing with "0.00" as the tax amount. But it sounds like you have tried a number of formats already.