cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Storing Customer Data

Hello, newbie here.  I have a dumb question, and I apologize in advance if this is not the right place to ask it - please move it (or tell me how to) if it should reside elsewhere.

We have a customer who has subscribed to Auth.net's CIM service.  She says however that when customers are being directed to her payment page (hosted on AN) that the customer data is not being saved, so she has to go fetch it from the customer again if she wants to charge follow-up payments.

Is this something she can configure in her AN account?  I'm not sure what else we can do on our end besides send the customer to the AN page to pay... (?)

Any help appreciated.

Thanks,

John

JohnBoy
Contributor
17 REPLIES 17

Are you sure it is using CIM and not SIM/AIM/DPM?

Because CIM use the saved info to create CC transaction.

Have her check her merchant account and see if there is any CIM data.

RaynorC1emen7
Expert

Thanks for the reply.

The source website is doing a simple form post of data to direct customers to the AN-hosted payment page.  (Is that what you mean?)

We pass customer indicative data, or at least the portion of it that we need, and these serve as defaults when the customer arrives at the AN-hosted payment page.  But they can of course override these.  I imagine they also choose what credit/debit card they want to use, and enter that information as well (16-digit number, expiration, and perhaps the 3-digit code on the back).  Address verification is configurable in customer's merchant account, is that right?

John

Sound like it is SIM and not CIM. Just by signup for CIM is not enough. Need programming change to support it.

The documentation

SIM

and

CIM

Thanks.  But wow, really?  A merchant needs thousands of dollars of development work to support a simple customer storage feature?  That they are already paying $20 a month extra for?