cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Storing Customer Data

Hello, newbie here.  I have a dumb question, and I apologize in advance if this is not the right place to ask it - please move it (or tell me how to) if it should reside elsewhere.

We have a customer who has subscribed to Auth.net's CIM service.  She says however that when customers are being directed to her payment page (hosted on AN) that the customer data is not being saved, so she has to go fetch it from the customer again if she wants to charge follow-up payments.

Is this something she can configure in her AN account?  I'm not sure what else we can do on our end besides send the customer to the AN page to pay... (?)

Any help appreciated.

Thanks,

John

JohnBoy
Contributor
17 REPLIES 17

That would be an ARB subscription, and yes, I believe so.

Thanks.  So I have another question (should it be in a new topic?)

When a new customer profile is created, is that profile exclusive to that Auth.net merchant account?  Or are the customer ids "global"?  We have many customers who use Auth.net (and expect many more), so we're trying to figure out if we need to store the customer id, and if so can we store it globally, or do we need to associate multiple Auth.net customer ids, one for each individual Auth.net customer?

Also, what happens if we create a new profile for a customer with the exact same data?

Thanks for entertaining my annoying questions...

John

1) I think it's global, given the size of the customer ID's, but the only way to find out for sure would be to try to create the same person on two different accounts.

2) Authorize.net throws you an error E00039 and also returns the profile ID of the duplicate profile. So you just check for that error and then access the existing profile ID, your process moves on just like if you'd actually created the profile.