Reply
Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-14-2015
Accepted Solution

Testing a particular Transaction in live mode

I am using the new API to process card payments. In SANDBOX every thing is running fine.

 

I want to know that how can I send a single transaction in test mode after I switch to live. I don;t want to switch my merchant account to test mode but want that a particular transaction can be sent in test mode.

 

In previous AIM API we use to set a parameter x_test_request to true and achivev this but how can the same be achieve in the new API.

 

Any help will be highly appreciated.

 

Thanks

Anoop


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author anoopasta
‎12-14-2015 10:02 PM
Posts: 2,597
Topics: 56
Kudos: 213
Blog Posts: 67
Registered: ‎12-05-2011

Re: Testing a particular Transaction in live mode

Hello @anoopasta

 

Sending a transaction in test mode tells the gateway to only validate the credentials, it does not actually attempt a transaction.  This is true for both the sandbox and production gateway.

 

To validate credentials, instead use <authenticateTestRequest> http://developer.authorize.net/api/reference/index.html#authentication

 

Test Mode should never be used in the sandbox.

 

Richard


Build modern websites and mobile applications without increasing PCI burden using Authorize.Net Accept


Still using SIM, DPM or AIM? Please check our upgrade guide for details on migrating to our full Authorize.Net API.

View solution in original post


All Replies
Solution
Accepted by topic author anoopasta
‎12-14-2015 10:02 PM
Posts: 2,597
Topics: 56
Kudos: 213
Blog Posts: 67
Registered: ‎12-05-2011

Re: Testing a particular Transaction in live mode

Hello @anoopasta

 

Sending a transaction in test mode tells the gateway to only validate the credentials, it does not actually attempt a transaction.  This is true for both the sandbox and production gateway.

 

To validate credentials, instead use <authenticateTestRequest> http://developer.authorize.net/api/reference/index.html#authentication

 

Test Mode should never be used in the sandbox.

 

Richard


Build modern websites and mobile applications without increasing PCI burden using Authorize.Net Accept


Still using SIM, DPM or AIM? Please check our upgrade guide for details on migrating to our full Authorize.Net API.
Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-14-2015

Re: Testing a particular Transaction in live mode

Hi Richard,

 

Thanks for the answer. Actually live server is giving error with test cards and I want to run a test transaction. So if a transaction is running 100% fine in SandBax wil it run 100% in production as well?

 

Thanks

Anoop

Posts: 2,597
Topics: 56
Kudos: 213
Blog Posts: 67
Registered: ‎12-05-2011

Re: Testing a particular Transaction in live mode

Test cards do not work in production.

 

Richard


Build modern websites and mobile applications without increasing PCI burden using Authorize.Net Accept


Still using SIM, DPM or AIM? Please check our upgrade guide for details on migrating to our full Authorize.Net API.
Highlighted
Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-07-2017

Re: Testing a particular Transaction in live mode

Hi Richard,

 

Then how do I test in production?

 

Is there any separate test card for production environment?

 

RIght now I am finding issue only in production & not in sandbox .

 

API request for both sandbox & production is same except TestMode/LiveMode.

 

Can you please suggest?

 

Thanks

ManigandanSA

Authorize.Net Expert
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎07-27-2016

Re: Testing a particular Transaction in live mode

[ Edited ]

Hi @ManigandanSA

 

We have the Sandbox enviornment specially designed for testing the integration with Authorize.Net, it almost covers and simulate everything which one wants to validate during theirintegration.

 

And after the integration is succesfully tested, one can just switch the API endpoint to production endpoint and replace the Sandbox API credentials with Production API credentials and everything should work fine.

 

If still you want to test something in production you can change your account to Test Mode and make a request, it will return Success if you have set your production credentials correctly.

 

(NOTE : Test Mode instructs the gateway to perform a credential check only)

 

Regards