Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎01-14-2019

Re: Upgrading MD5 to new hash (SIM)

@staopix, thanks, i'm not sure what I am supposed to do though. 

 

Are you suggesting that the HMACSHA512 function in the SIM guide PDF is incorrect?

 

In theory I could encode the value before doing the initial post to Authorize.Net, so Sãu Paulo would be encoded as S\u00e3u Paulo.  But then on the payment page that Authorize.Net show, the city shows it as S\u00e3u Paulo.  It does validate the SHA-512 check, but far from ideal.  Plus if address checks were turned on at Authorize.Net would S\u00e3u Paulo even pass checks?  So this option is a non-starter.

 

In the initial post, if I submit Sãu Paulo, it displays as Sãu Paulo on the Authorize.Net payment page.  The issue is that the response that comes back is showing a ? character and it doesn't validate.

Highlighted
Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-08-2019

Re: Upgrading MD5 to new hash (SIM)

@cwdsl 

 

To be honest I think it is a bug in the Autorize.net hashing algorithm. I think they are not handling multibyte characters correctly. I have logged a support case but still to hear back from them. 

 

Are there any support people on the forums?

Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎01-14-2019

Re: Upgrading MD5 to new hash (SIM)

@staopix, I think I've actually got it to work in my project.  As a bit of background, I'm doing an ASP.NET MVC application.  I started off by posting Sãu Paulo to a test URL and noticed it was replacing the ã with a ?.  So this was a standard post, not Authorize.Net posting.  Therefore I thought by default the URL was accepting standard ASCII characters only.  In my MVC project I added the following to the web.config...

 

  <location path="PATH_TO_URL">
    <system.web>
      <globalization requestEncoding="ISO-8859-1" responseEncoding="ISO-8859-1" />
    </system.web>
  </location>

 

The PATH_TO_URL is replaced with the URL to the Authorize.Net Relay Response URL without a leading forward slash.

 

At this point I saw the request was coming in correctly with Sãu Paulo.  However the hash was not comparing properly still.  This is because in the Authorize.Net example they are using ASCIIEncoding...

 

Dim HashedValue As Byte() = hmac.ComputeHash((New System.Text.ASCIIEncoding()).GetBytes(textToHash))

 

 Changing this to UTF8Encoding seems to fix the issue...

 

Dim HashedValue As Byte() = hmac.ComputeHash((New System.Text.UTF8Encoding()).GetBytes(textToHash))

 

I can't help with other languages, but looking at my example I would say Authorize.Net are correctly posting to the relay response.  Their ASCIIEncoding is wrong though.

Highlighted
Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-08-2019

Re: Upgrading MD5 to new hash (SIM)

[ Edited ]

@cwdsl 

 

OK got this working now. Converted the encoding from ISO-8859-1 to UTF-8. This gets around the issue with 

São Paulo

 

However it does not fix an issue where the addres might include a Polish character such as 

Ł

This is due to the fact that the Polish character is out of range of the Latin-1 encoding. 

 

we send: 

 

'x_city' => 'Ł',

and get back:

 

'x_ship_to_city' => 'A',

 

 

 

 

 

Surely this has to be a bug in Authorize.net. Our application sends the data in UTF-8 but we get different encoding returned. If Authroize.net sent the data back as UTF-8 then we wouldnt have this issue.

 

Highlighted
All Star
Posts: 707
Registered: ‎11-05-2018

Re: Upgrading MD5 to new hash (SIM)

@staopix

Just curious, are you converting before the form is submitted so that the customer sees the new character ? For this issue, your solution is to build a custom function to sanitize the response. You are free to PM me if you have questions.
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎01-14-2019

Re: Upgrading MD5 to new hash (SIM)

@Renaissance  and  @staopix 

 

I'm not sure if Polish characters should be supported with Authorize.Net or not.  As a temporary solution I am passing the address entered through a function (code below).  This will work with most characters, but ones it doesn't support it replaces with the nearest.  I then post the corrected address to Authorize.Net in the initial post.

 

            Dim iso As Encoding = Encoding.GetEncoding("ISO-8859-1")
            Dim utf8 As Encoding = Encoding.UTF8
            Dim utfBytes As Byte() = utf8.GetBytes(Value)
            Dim isoBytes As Byte() = Encoding.Convert(utf8, iso, utfBytes)

            Return iso.GetString(isoBytes)

So São Paulo would still return São Paulo and that works fine.  If I use Ł, the function converts it to L.  This is then submitted to Authorize.Net.  That way when it returns back to the relay URL, the hash will compare correctly.

 

If there is a way for Polish characters to work correctly I will amend, but this gets around the issue for now.

Highlighted
Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-04-2019

Re: Upgrading MD5 to new hash (SIM)

There is another issue for me now.

 

Hash values are not matching if the amount given as Eg: 10.00. It works fine if the second decimal place has a non zero value. ie, if the amount is given as 10.52 then it works fine. What is the solution for this?

Another question, With new SDK how can we redirect back to the parent page once the transaction is complete? In the old php SDK we had a AuthorizeNetDPM::getRelayResponseSnippet($redirect_url) function to do this. In the new one how can we achieve this? Please help.

Highlighted
All Star
Posts: 707
Registered: ‎11-05-2018

Re: Upgrading MD5 to new hash (SIM)

For your class driven redirect I am not sure and do not have time to look at it right now.  For the 10.00 not working but 10.02, etc. working, what is happening is you have a number format issue. You need to add some code in your script to format all numbers to include 2 decimal places. I'd bet high that is exactly your issue.  What is happpening is 10.00 is being formatted as either 10.0 or 10.  To test this validate your response business as usual on a 10.00 order, but instead of taking the post value plug 10.00 in manually.  Your hash will match. 

Highlighted
Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-04-2019

Re: Upgrading MD5 to new hash (SIM)

@Renaissance The amount issue solved!! Thanks a lot :) . Can anybody else give a solution for the redirect issue :(

Highlighted
All Star
Posts: 707
Registered: ‎11-05-2018

Re: Upgrading MD5 to new hash (SIM)

@mahima1990

I just read your post again. You use SIM/DPM? If so you can simply put either a relay or redirect url in the merchant interface. Put the url you want them back to