cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Verify Customer

This is my first time using Authorize.net, and I am using it simply to verify the identity of website members.

In other words, I want to link a member account to a cardholder.

I am able to get a transaction to succeed with just credit card details.

What do I need to do to require that the Name and Billing Info matches what is on file with the credit card company.

What fields from the API guide are required to accomplish this?

Is there anything else I need to know or do in order to do cardholder and address verification as part of my credit card processing?

Thanks, 

Sally

ssimons
Contributor
5 REPLIES 5

Hi,

When processing a credit card transaction, the first and last names are not validated. You can pass any value on these fields but they are not verified to match what the credit card issuing bank has on file. You can however verify the billing information to match and this will check the numerical value on the steet address and the zip code using AVS or Address Verification Service. Please refer to this:

https://support.authorize.net/authkb/index?page=content&id=A649

Thanks,

Joy

Joy
Administrator Administrator
Administrator

@Joy wrote:

Hi,

When processing a credit card transaction, the first and last names are not validated. You can pass any value on these fields but they are not verified to match what the credit card issuing bank has on file. You can however verify the billing information to match and this will check the numerical value on the steet address and the zip code using AVS or Address Verification Service. Please refer to this:

https://support.authorize.net/authkb/index?page=content&id=A649

Thanks,

Joy

Joy,

Considering all of the cybersecurity attacks out there, I am surprised by your response.

Why in the world is the First and Last Name not checked??