cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which method to use: AIM, SIM, CIM, DPM???

I would like the follwing in order of priority:

1. no PCI issues, all data stored on Authorize.net servers
  2. customization of the payment pages look and feel
  3. customers to stay on my site (url and design)

Here is my take:

AIM can do 2 and 3, but not 1. It takes CC data and requires much stricter PCI standards.

SIM can do 1 and 2, but takes you away from your URL

CIM can do 1, 2 and 3

Not sure about DPM.  

I am using ExpressionEngine and CartThrob if that matters...

DougE
18 REPLIES 18

Hi,

I am new to Authorize.Net, I need your advice to understand CIM method. For our project I have plan to use CIM for first/ intial payment and for ongoing paymnets. Please let me know can we achieve  using CIM ?

Thanks

sathish.

Yes, you can charge a profile immediately after you create it with CIM.

Thanks for your reply! Also could you please explain where can I get detailed response for Custom Receipt after I submit

CreateCustomerProfileTransaction.

Are you going to use hosted CIM (forms are hosted on Authorize.net) or regular CIM (forms are hosted on your site)? If the latter, it's probably fairly easy to do a custom receipt page, just print_r on $response or $transactionResponse (not sure which it would be) after putting in a sample transaction, and this will give you all the fields that Authorize.net returns. if the former, there should be sample code here (see the CIM section):

http://developer.authorize.net/downloads/samplecode/

Your discussion of what portion of the authorize.net framework to use, but in the real world, as with my site that has both memberships and one-off purchases, do I then use CIM for purchases from my "members" and simply AIM to process individual transactions where I do not have a previously saved customer ID?