cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

developing a PCI compliant web app

I'm desperately trying to understand how to develop a PCI compliant web app. I'm a PHP developer not a system admin or anything. I've recently discovered not all hosting companies are PCI compliant.

Can anyone shed some light on:

1.What hosting provider they recommend for becoming PCI compliant while using authorize.net. A lot of hosting providers are PCI compliant only with like paypal or google checkout. 

2. What needs to be done, coding wise, to become PCI compliant. 

3. Any companies they've used to assist in becoming PCI compiant and are satisfied in using or one's i should stay away.

4. How much is becoming PCI complaint going to cost me? I'm going to  be a level 4 merchant. (< 20,000 transactions a year). 

5. Anything else you think i should be aware of while on my quest to become PCI compiant.

The authorize.net API is great, i just want to make sure i'm PCI compliant when using it! I'd rather not get fined...

dadamssg
Contributor
5 REPLIES 5

PCI compliance is a pain in the rear (short version).

There are a vast number of things that are required,  and most of them are server-side things (have nothing to do with your actual code).

Everything from making sure all non-essential ports are blocked; port 21 is one of them (so you have to change the port your FTP server/client uses),  to restricting IP addresses for remote administrative logins.  There are tons of things server-side.

Finding a hosting provider who is actually willing to do all that work can be a chore.   I've got a client who uses Hosting.com and I've found them to be very understanding when it comes to PCI issues, and they're pretty quick to get things secured when you ask them to.