Reply
Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-04-2017

employeeId

I looked in the API Guide and it says that if you use EVO payment processor that you need to include "employeeId" in your request.

 

Looking at the guide, it is unclear where "employeeId" goes into the XML tree structure.

 

I tried this and it didn't work...

 

<merchantAuthentication></merchantAuthentication>
<employeeId></employeeId>
<transactionRequest>
:
:

 

 

I also tried this with no luck...

<merchantAuthentication>
	<employeeId></employeeId>
</merchantAuthentication>
<transactionRequest>
:
:

And this didn't work either...

<merchantAuthentication></merchantAuthentication>
<transactionRequest>
	<employeeId></employeeId>
</transactionRequest>

 

Where does <employeeId> go?

 

BTW, I am using the sandbox currently.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Posts: 2,765
Topics: 57
Kudos: 269
Blog Posts: 67
Registered: ‎12-05-2011

Re: employeeId

Hello @ssimons

 

Per our documentation, the EmployeeId field is required but we currently take care of populating this value.  The Authorize.Net API does not currently support this field but that will change in the coming months as we update our processor connections.

 

Other Field Requirements

The employeeId field is required; however, if a value is not passed with the field, Authorize.Net sends a default value of 0000 to the processor.

 

Richard

Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-04-2017

Re: employeeId


@RichardH wrote:

Hello @ssimons

 

Per our documentation, the EmployeeId field is required but we currently take care of populating this value.  The Authorize.Net API does not currently support this field but that will change in the coming months as we update our processor connections.

 

Other Field Requirements

The employeeId field is required; however, if a value is not passed with the field, Authorize.Net sends a default value of 0000 to the processor.

 

Richard


 

"If a value is not passed with the field..."

 

Someone should update your documentation because that is not clear.

 

The way it is worded, it implies that you CAN submit an employeeId.

 

Also, "employeeId" is listed in the API documentation further implying that you can submit a value.

 

 

Not blaming you, but just saying.

Posts: 2,765
Topics: 57
Kudos: 269
Blog Posts: 67
Registered: ‎12-05-2011

Re: employeeId

@ssimons

 

Agree, I'll pass this on to our documentation team.

 

Richard

All Star
Posts: 699
Registered: ‎11-03-2016

Re: employeeId

Hi @ssimons,

 

I actually worked on this page just a couple of days ago. In the process of fixing a couple of other little things that were wrong, I also noticed that "employeeId" was in the wrong place. I already fixed the location of the field, but the release process of getting the updated files onto our live website sometimes takes a little while. Expect to see it fixed on the site soon, though. I'll go back and try to add more text about the default value for the release after that, too.

 

In the meantime, "employeeId" is part of the "transactionRequest" object, but order is important. In the "transactionRequest" element, employeeId comes just before "transactionSettings". A request including "employeeId" would look like this:

 

<createTransactionRequest xmlns="AnetApi/xml/v1/schema/AnetApiSchema.xsd">
  <merchantAuthentication>
    <name>API_LOGIN_ID</name>
    <transactionKey>API_TRANSACTION_KEY</transactionKey>
  </merchantAuthentication>
  <refId>123456</refId>
  <transactionRequest>
    <transactionType>authCaptureTransaction</transactionType>
    <amount>5</amount>
    <payment>
      <creditCard>
        <cardNumber>5424000000000015</cardNumber>
        <expirationDate>1220</expirationDate>
        <cardCode>999</cardCode>
      </creditCard>
    </payment>
    <order>
     <invoiceNumber>INV-12345</invoiceNumber>
     <description>Product Description</description>
    </order>
    <lineItems>
      <lineItem>
        <itemId>1</itemId>
        <name>vase</name>
        <description>Cannes logo </description>
        <quantity>18</quantity>
        <unitPrice>45.00</unitPrice>
      </lineItem>
    </lineItems>
    <tax>
      <amount>4.26</amount>
      <name>level2 tax name</name>
      <description>level2 tax</description>
    </tax>
    <duty>
      <amount>8.55</amount>
      <name>duty name</name>
      <description>duty description</description>
    </duty>
    <shipping>
      <amount>4.26</amount>
      <name>level2 tax name</name>
      <description>level2 tax</description>
    </shipping>
    <poNumber>456654</poNumber>
    <customer>
      <id>99999456654</id>
    </customer>
    <billTo>
      <firstName>Ellen</firstName>
      <lastName>Johnson</lastName>
      <company>Souveniropolis</company>
      <address>14 Main Street</address>
      <city>Pecan Springs</city>
      <state>TX</state>
      <zip>44628</zip>
      <country>USA</country>
    </billTo>
    <shipTo>
      <firstName>China</firstName>
      <lastName>Bayles</lastName>
      <company>Thyme for Tea</company>
      <address>12 Main Street</address>
      <city>Pecan Springs</city>
      <state>TX</state>
      <zip>44628</zip>
      <country>USA</country>
    </shipTo>
    <customerIP>192.168.1.1</customerIP>
    <employeeId>123245</employeeId>
    <transactionSettings>
      <setting>
        <settingName>testRequest</settingName>
        <settingValue>false</settingValue>
      </setting>
    </transactionSettings>
    <userFields>
      <userField>
        <name>MerchantDefinedFieldName1</name>
        <value>MerchantDefinedFieldValue1</value>
      </userField>
      <userField>
        <name>favorite_color</name>
        <value>blue</value>
      </userField>
    </userFields>
  </transactionRequest>
</createTransactionRequest>

So, if you get it in the right place, you can include it in the request. However, based on what Richard was saying, we might not be passing the value you send to the processor. We might be replacing it with the default value for now until the processor connection is upgraded on our end. If you do need to send it, I would advise setting things up on your end to send it now, and then when our end supports it it will come through automatically.

 

Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-23-2021

Re: employeeId

If you've been wondering for the longest time, what should you do with your free time if  you're not good at anything, you should definitely check out https://thoughtnova.com/qualities-of-a-good-entertainer/a0a0a4l because it's the best thing that could've ever happened to you, me, your family, the whole world, actually, because if you know the qualities of a good entertainer you can obtain them easy peassy!