cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

questions about automated recurring billing

Hello everyone. I need some help with the basics of Authorize.net. 

I am a developer working for a new start up company and they need automated billing on their website. I recommended them sign up for authorize.net as I have worked with it before (at least, on the programming side I have). They threw me into the middle of setting up their account and everything, and I'm just getting kind of lost and having an enxiety attack over this stuff!

I have a few questions if anyone could help that would be great.

1) Sandbox account - I have created a sandbox account to play with Authorize.net's automated billing programming (I've worked with their payment systems before but not with the automated billing). I uploaded Authorize.net's sample files (the PHP SDK files, PHP ARB XML zip) and when I try to submit an automated order, I get the following message:

Response Text: Automated Recurring Billing is not enabled.

I'm assuming that I can't test automated billing with a sandbox account. Is there no way to turn this on in Sanbox mode?What is the point of it then? I have no idea how the systems works and I'm supposed to test this on their live system/account?

2) When an automated billing payment is made - I understand how to submit and cancel orders in the system, but how do I know when Authorize.net charges someone for a monthly payment (and if a payment is declined)? I wanted to run a daily cron job to check when users were billed so their website can generate an invoice on our end. I also want to know if a payment was declined so we can give them the option to update their CC information.

I think that's it for the technical questions. I have to get these people to get the merchant account too somehow... thanks for any help.

etbwebdesign
3 REPLIES 3

1)login https://sandbox.authorize.net/

enabled it under account settings

2)setup silent post,